My Year with Eleanor: A Memoir

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Jun 7, 2011 - Biography & Autobiography - 304 pages

“I honestly loved this book.”
—Jim Norton, New York Times bestselling author of I Hate Your Guts

“Eleanor taught Noelle that, first and foremost, Courage Takes Practice. Her yearlong quest to face her terrors, great and small, is moving, enriching, and hilarious—we readers are lucky to be along for the ride.”
—Julie Powell, bestselling author of Julie & Julia

In the tradition of My Year of Living Biblically and Eat Pray Love comes My Year with Eleanor, Noelle Hancock’s hilarious tale of her decision to heed the advice of First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt and do one thing a day that scares her in the year before her 30th birthday. Fans of Sloane Crosley and Chelsea Handler will absolutely adore Hancock’s charming and outrageous chronicle of her courageous endeavor and delight in her poignant and inspiring personal growth.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PlanCultivateCreate - www.librarything.com

This book is a memoir of the author's experience around fear and courage - I liked the idea, but I think I have read a few too many "year-long" project books, so I am shelving this a little more than ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - readingfiend - LibraryThing

Noelle Hancock loses her job as a blogger for a website for one of the current celebrity magazines. With no job in sight and having read a few books about Eleanor Roosevelt, she decides to spend the ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
18
Section 3
33
Section 4
54
Section 5
65
Section 6
81
Section 7
106
Section 8
121
Section 12
183
Section 13
202
Section 14
225
Section 15
251
Section 16
285
Section 17
292
Section 18
293
Section 19
297

Section 9
138
Section 10
149
Section 11
167
Section 20
299
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

NOELLE HANCOCK is a former staff writer for the New York Observer. Her work has appeared in GQ, Gawker, Us Weekly, and elsewhere. She was born and raised in Houston, Texas, and graduated from Yale University. She lives in Manhattan with her parakeets, Jesus and Stuart. Her parents are still holding out for law school.

Bibliographic information