Mystical Writings of Rulman Merswin: The Four Beginning Years And the Book of the Nine Rocks

Front Cover
Kessinger Publishing, Aug 1, 2004 - Body, Mind & Spirit - 112 pages
This volume includes two of the major works written by Rulman Merswin, one of the most important of the fourteenth-century German mystics; The Four Beginning Years and The Book of the Nine Rocks. In The Four Beginning Years he describes the yearnings, agonies, austerities and joys he experienced in the period immediately following his conversion. The Book of the Nine Rocks explains that the rocks are elevated one above another, representing increasingly higher levels of spiritual attainment and being progressively more difficult to reach. In leaping from rock to rock, most men slip back (for Satan gets his hooks into them) or plunge all the way down into the misty world below. The few who reach the topmost rock are those who have completely lost their self-will and desire. They have beheld their divine origin and are in process of being merged in God.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Bibliographic information