NEA Literature Fellowships: 40 Years of Supporting American Writers

Front Cover
Don Ball
DIANE Publishing, Dec 1, 2008 - 60 pages
0 Reviews
The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) Literature Fellowship Program has helped new writers find their voices and established authors continue their work. Some of the early grants went to writers whose work is now a permanent part of America¿s literary legacy, such as Gwendolyn Brooks, Isaac Bashevis Singer, John Berryman, Denise Levertov, Robert Penn Warren, and Eudora Welty. The NEA Fellowships have also recognized many writers before their talents were acknowledged by a wider audience, such as Alice Walker, Tobias Wolff, and Maxine Hong Kingston. This publication, issued in the 40th year of NEA¿s existence, celebrates the history of the NEA Literature Fellowship Program. Photos.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information