Naked Cruelty

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers, Oct 1, 2010 - Fiction - 400 pages
4 Reviews

Locking your door won't help. He's already inside ...

Locking your door won't help. He's already inside ... America in 1968 is in turmoil and the leafy Holloman suburb of Carew is being silently terrorised by a series of vicious and systematic rapes. When finally one victim finds the courage to speak out and go to the police, the rapist escalates to murder. For Captain Carmine Delmonico, it seems to be a case with no clues. And it comes as the Holloman Police Department is troubled: a lieutenant is out of his depth, a sergeant is out of control, and into this mix comes the beautiful, ruthlessly ambitious new trainee, Helen MacIntosh, daughter of the influential president of Chubb University. As the killer makes his plans, Carmine and his team must use every resource at their disposal - including a team of highly motivated neighbourhood watch, the Gentlemen Walkers ... Praise for the Carmine Delmonico series 'very much in the tradition of P D James! McCullough is a tremendous storyteller' tHE tIMES 'As an artful storyteller, McCullough has more than a few tricks up her sleeve' SYDNEY MORNING HERALD

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SmithfieldJones - LibraryThing

The terrific writer, Colleen McCullough, who brought us The Thorn Birds in 1977 (her second novel), was just getting started. Carmine Delmonico, and the entire cast, of Naked Cruelty, a Carine ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DCarlin - LibraryThing

My first "Carmine Delmonico" novel and my first Colleen McCullough for many years. i enjoyed it from go to woe and although it had crossed my mind who the villain was it came as a surprise. Definitely a four star read! Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Colleen McCullough was born in New South Wales in 1937. A neuroscientist by training, she worked in hospitals in Sydney, London and Yale. By night, she wrote -- and her second novel, "The Thorn Birds" (1977) became a global bestseller. She published 25 novels, ranging from love stories to crime fiction, including the monumental, seven-volume "Masters of Rome" historical fiction series.

Bibliographic information