New Beginnings

Front Cover
Bloomsbury USA, Mar 16, 2005 - Fiction - 256 pages
0 Reviews

In an unprecedented publishing move, the world's leading writers are coming together to publish the first chapters of their new, unpublished work in a single volume entitled NEW BEGINNINGS. All proceeds of this unique venture will be going to Save the Children Tsunami Relief Fund.
Authors participating are:
Alexander McCall Smith chapter from Sunday Philosophy Club #2: Friends, Lovers, Chocolates coming 9/05 from Pantheon
Ian McEwan chapter from Saturday coming 3/05 from Doubleday
Maeve Binchy short story Georgia Hall – as yet unscheduled
Margaret Atwood excerpt from the Tree coming in 06 from Doubleday
Marian Keyes chapter from If You Were Me
Mark Haddon chapter from Blood and Scissors
Nicholas Evans chapter from the Divide
Nick Hornby chapter from A Long Way Down coming 6/05 from Riverhead
Paulo Coelho chapter from the Zahir
Scott Turow chapter from the Law of War coming 10/05 from FSG
Stephen King short story: Lisey and the Madman from McSweeney's Enchanted Chamber of Astonishing Stories published 11/04
Tracy Chevalier untitled novel excerpt, as yet unscheduled for publication
Vikram Seth poem, "Earth and Sky" as yet unscheduled
Helen Fielding - introduction
Harlan Coben chapter from the Innocent coming 4/05 from Dutton
Joanna Trollope chapter from Second Honeymoon coming 2/06 from Bloomsbury
JM Coetzee chapter from Slow Man coming 10/05 from Viking
This is an extraordinary collection of superb pieces from the world's most celebrated writers. All of this is being made available to consumers in advance of publication and in aid of Tsunami victims.
Your generous and enthusiastic support of this project will enable Save the Children to continue their important work in the wake of the Tsunami devastation.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2005)

Margaret Atwood was born on November 18, 1939 in Ottawa, Canada. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962. Her first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie, Power Politics, Cat's Eye, The Robber Bride, Morning in the Buried House, the MaddAdam trilogy, and The Heart Goes Last. She has won numerous awards including the Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, the Booker Prize in 2000 for The Blind Assassin, the Giller Prize and the Premio Mondello for Alias Grace, and the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the very first Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1987. She won the PEN Pinter prize in 2016 for her political activism. She was awarded the 2016 PEN Pinter Prize for the outstanding literary merit of her body of work.

Bibliographic information