New York Novels

Front Cover
Modern Library, 1998 - Fiction - 958 pages
0 Reviews
No one chronicled Old New York better than Edith Wharton, and the Modern Library has selected four of her best-known novels to represent the time period: THE AGE OF INNOCENCE, THE HOUSE OF MIRTH, THE CUSTOM OF THE COUNTRY, and OLD NEW YORK, a collection of four novellas.
The novels explore the dilemma of women and men held within the rigid bounds of social convention, often revolving around marriage. In The House of Mirth, the novel that brought Edith Wharton to fame, Lily Bart must choose between the superficial values of the nouveaux riches and having a more meaningful life. In The Custom of the Country, the energetic and ambitious Undine Spragg works her way to wealth and power through a succession of marriages. Newland Archer in The Age of Innocence is caught in an agony of indecision: whether he should choose the duty of a socially approved marriage, or the love of a woman frowned upon by "decent" society.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Edith Wharton (1862-1937) was born into a distinguished New York family and was privately educated in America and abroad. In 1905 she published The House of Mirth and two years later moved to France. The author of Ethan Frome (1911), The Reef (1912), and The Custom of the Country (1913), among many other novels, she won the Pulitzer Prize in 1920 for The Age of Innocence. In addition to her novels, she wrote short stories, poetry, travel books, and an autobiography.

Bibliographic information