New music: a trilogy

Front Cover
Theatre Communications Group, 1990 - Drama - 266 pages
0 Reviews
A trilogy of plays that follows the Avery family, their friends and acquaintances through 37 years of life in a North Carolina town, from pre-World War II until the Vietnam era. Through their terse, elegant, often poetic speech, a certain melancholy at its base, readers gradually know these people and enter their world.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

New music: a trilogy

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

An observant and compassionate writer, Price has published in about every literary genre available. In the three interrelated plays of New Music , he continues the characteristically wise, gentle ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1990)

Writer and educator Edward Reynolds Price was born on February 1, 1933 in Macon, North Carolina. He attended Duke University and Oxford University. Despite being paralyzed from the chest down since the 1980s, he produces approximately one book a year and teaches at Duke University. His first novel, A Long and Happy Life (1962) won the William Faulkner Award, and he followed it up with other novels, poems, plays and essays. Kate Vaiden (1985) won the National Books Critics Circle Award and Collected Stories was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. His plays have been produced on stage and on PBS's American Playhouse.

Bibliographic information