New trails: twenty-three original stories of the West from western writers of America

Front Cover
Doubleday, Oct 1, 1994 - Fiction - 306 pages
1 Review
New, never-before-published stories from members of the Western Writers of America include Elmore Leonard's "Hurrah for Captain Early," John Jakes's "Manitow and Ironhand," and Judy Alter's "Sweet Revenge."

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

New trails: twenty-three original stories of the West from western writers of America

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Answering the call from the editors for new material, several members of the Western Writers of America here offer a wide-ranging, uniformly excellent collection of original short fiction that ... Read full review


To Challenge a Legend
The Deaths of Billy the Kid

16 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

John Jakes was born in Chicago in 1932. He studied acting at Northwestern University, where he began writing professionally during his freshman year. Later he enrolled in a creative writing program at DePauw University and received a master's degree in American literature from Ohio State University. Early in his career Jakes wrote copy for a pharmaceutical company and various ad agencies, and authored dozens of short stories encompassing western, mystery and science fiction themes. In March 1973, Jakes commenced work on The Kent Family Chronicles, a multi-volume set portraying American history through the lives of a fictional family. Later works include North and South (1982), California Gold (1989), Homeland (1993), and American Dreams. Six of his major novels have been filmed as television miniseries, and North and South remains one of the highest rated miniseries in the history of television. Jakes is actively involved in the adaptation of North and South for the Broadway stage. John Jakes has been hailed as the godfather of the historical novel, and America's history teacher.

Martin H. Greenberg was born in 1942. He received a doctorate in Political Science in 1969 and was a professor of political science at the University of Wisconsin until 1995. Over the course of his long and prolific career, Greenberg has published around 1000 anthologies and has worked with numerous best-selling authors including Isaac Asimov, Tom Clancy, Stephen King, Anne McCaffrey, Sue Grafton, Scott Turow and Dean Koontz. He has won numerous awards including the Horror Guild Award in 1994, the Deathrealm Award in 1996, the Bram Stoker Award in 1998, and the Prometheus Special Award in 2005. He also received The Ellery Queen Award for lifetime achievement in mystery editing and the Milford Award for lifetime achievement in science fiction editing.