Night Soldiers: A classic spy novel of intrigue and suspense set in the Second World War

Front Cover
Orion, Aug 25, 2011 - Fiction - 512 pages
0 Reviews

'Hugely intriguing; Furst is in a class of his own' William Boyd

'Competitors despair. Alan Furst's mastery of the espionage novel puts him beyond any would-be rival' Literary Review

'A spy novel, a war story, an adventure, a survivor's tale, Night Soldiers is all this and more' Seattle Times

The legendary Alan Furst, master of the historical spy novel, takes us back to the early days of the Second World War for a dramatic novel of intrigue and suspense.

Bulgaria, 1934. Khristo Stoianev is recruited into an elite unit of the Soviet espionage network, after seeing his brother murdered by local fascist thugs. Bloodied and betrayed in the Spanish Civil War, he then narrowly escapes Stalin's purges. Khristo seeks oblivion in Paris, a small player on the wrong end of a social scene that is simultaneously decadent and doomed.

One of the 20th century's greatest spy novels, Night Soldiers is a thrilling portrait of one man's extraordinary adventures and of Europe teetering on the brink of World War Two. A spy noir novel that will appeal to readers of John Le Carre, Charles McCarry, Henry Porter and John Lawon.

Praise for the Book:

'Night Soldiers has everything the best thrillers offer: excitement, intrigue, romance plus grown-up writing, characters that matter, and a crisp, carefully researched portrait of the period in which our own postwar world was shaped' USA Today

'Intelligent, ambitious, absorbing' New York Times

'Furst's tales are infused with the melancholy romanticism of Casablanca, and also a touch of Arthur Koestler's Darkness at Noon' Scotsman

'America's preeminent spy novelist' New York Times

'Pure pleasure to read' Kirkus

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2011)

Alan Furst is widely recognised as the master of the historical spy novel. Now translated into eighteen languages, he is the author of novels including MISSION TO PARIS, SPIES OF THE BALKANS - a TV Book Club choice - THE SPIES OF WARSAW, which became a BBC mini-series starring David Tennant and THE FOREIGN CORRESPONDENT.

Born in New York, he lived for many years in Paris and travelled as a journalist in Eastern Europe and Russia. He has written extensively for Esquire and the International Herald Tribune. He now lives in Long Island.

www.alanfurst.net

Bibliographic information