No Child Left Behind Act: Text, Interpretation and Changes

Front Cover
Nova Publishers, 2007 - Education - 80 pages
0 Reviews
On 8 January 2002, the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, legislation to extend and revise the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), was signed into law as P.L. 107-110 (H.R. 1). This legislation extensively amends and re-authorises many of the programs of federal aid to elementary and secondary education. Major features of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 include the following: states will be required to implement standards-based assessments in reading and mathematics for pupils in each of grades 3-8 by the 2005-2006 school year, and at three grade levels in science by the 2007-2008 school year; grants to states for assessment development are authorised; all states will be required to participate in National Assessment of Educational Progress tests in 4th and 8th grade reading and mathematics every second year; states must develop adequate yearly progress (AYP) standards, incorporating a goal of all pupils reaching a proficient or advanced level of achievement within 12 years, and apply them to each public school, local education agency (LEA), and the state overall; and a sequence of consequences, including public school choice and supplemental services options, would

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


K12 Education Highlights of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 PL 107110
Educational Testing Implementation of ESEA Title IA Requirements Under the No Child Left Behind Act
A Guide to education and No Child Left Behind

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information