Norman Mailer's Later Fictions: Ancient Evenings through Castle in the Forest

Front Cover
Palgrave Macmillan US, Jun 21, 2010 - Literary Criticism - 203 pages
Norman Mailer s Later Fiction considers five works - Ancient Evenings (1983), Tough Guys Don t Dance (1984), Harlot's Ghost (1991), The Gospel According to the Son (1997), The Castle in the Forest (2007) - to examine, for the first time in a full volume, Mailer s literary maturity. Essays from esteemed scholars, Mailer's wife, andeditor, discuss Mailer s modes of cultural critique, connecting his political, theological, sexual, and aesthetic insights. This book will be essential reading for all Mailer scholars and offers provocative insights in such areas as postmodern American writing, masculinity studies, and the developing interface of literary and religious studies.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

John Whalen-Bridge is Associate Professor in the Department of English Language and Literature at National University of Singapore

Bibliographic information