Nurse to the Imagination: 50 Years of the Robert Burns Fellowship

Front Cover
Lawrence Jones
Otago University Press, Jan 1, 2008 - Literary Collections - 251 pages
0 Reviews
This book illustrates the contribution made to New Zealand letters by its oldest and most prestigious literary fellowship - the Burns Fellowship. The anthology, by turns playful and serious, celebrates the Fellowship's golden jubilee. Beginning with novelist Ian Cross in 1959 and ending with the 2008 Burns Fellow, poet Sue Wootton, Nurse to the Imagination showcases the output of leading New Zealand literary figures, such as James K. Baxter, Michael King, and Janet Frame, alongside newer voices, with pieces written at the time of the Fellow's tenure. The book exhibits many interesting trends, of which the shift from male-dominated literature up to 1980, to the rich representation of women writers since then, is just one. With photographic illustrations, Nurse to the Imagination offers a glimpse of five decades worth of New Zealand writers and their imaginative works.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Ian Cross
John Caselberg
Maurice Shadbolt

18 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Lawrence Jones is an Emeritus Professor of English at the University of Otago, has taught at the University for 45 years of the 50 years of the Fellowship. He introduced the first papers in New Zealand literature at the University and has published extensively on New Zealand literature and its history, including the section on the novel in The Oxford History of New Zealand Literature in English and Picking Up the Traces: The Making of a New Zealand Literary Culture 1932-1945. He was editor and co-editor of the Journal of New Zealand Literature 1990-2000 and was co-editor of From the Mainland: An Anthology of South Island Writing.

Bibliographic information