Front Cover
Anchor Books, 1994 - Fiction - 300 pages
15 Reviews
Based on the author's own experiences, this award-winning novel was the first to tell the story of the evacuation, relocation, and dispersal of Canadian citizens of Japanese ancestry during the Second World War. "This quiet novel burns in your hand." -- "Washington Post."

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lamour - LibraryThing

Naomi Nakane lives in British Columbia and while sheltered by her parents from the many realities of being Japanese in a racist society, she lives a happy cultured life. In 1941, her mother goes to ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - andrewreads - LibraryThing

I enjoyed this book a lot. I thought it did a wonderful job recounting a terribly shameful period of Canada's history (the absurdly racist internment of thousands of Japanese Canadians during/after ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

27 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1994)

Joy Kogawa was born in Vancouver, British Columbia in 1935 and graduated from high school in Coaldale, Alberta where her family was sent after WWII. Kogawa was made a Member of the Order of Canada. From 1983 to 1985, she worked with the National Association of Japanese Canadians to help those Japanese who had lost their land and possesions under the War Measures Act in 1942. Kogawa went on to study education at the University of Alberta and taught elementary school in Coaldale for a year. She then studied music at the University of Toronto followed by studies at the Anglican Women's Training College and the University of Saskatchewan. Kogawa has won awards for her book Obasan, including the Books in Canada, First Novel Award, the Canadian Authors Association, Book of the Year Award, the Periodical Distributors of Canada, Best Paperback Fiction Award, the Before Columbus Foundation, and The American Book Award

Bibliographic information