Oil and Dust

Front Cover
Kitsune Publishing, Sep 1, 2021 - Fiction - 472 pages
1 Review
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

When all has been lost, we find ourselves…

Out of the ashes of destruction, a new world has arisen. The plagues of the past—the worship of greed and pursuit of power—are gone. Now, the communities that remain in this post-apocalyptic world focus on creating connections, on forging futures filled with family and love. And all with the help of hard work, hope… and a little bit of magic.

Artist Matthew Sugiyama knows this well. Traveling the countryside in search of the family he lost as a child, he trades his art for supplies—and uses his honed magic to re-draw the boundaries of reality, to fashion a world that is better for those he meets.

Following glimpses of visions half-seen, Matthew—and the friends he encounters along the way—will travel a path from light to darkness and back again. A road where things lost in the past can only be found in the love of the present, and the hope for the future.

And he will travel this path wherever it leads. From joy to sorrow, from tears to laughter. Because Matthew is the Elemental Artist, and he knows that though dangers arise, humanity will always triumph… in a world he has painted in shades of Oil and Dust.

Author Jami Farleigh invites you to meet a rich tapestry of characters, and to travel through a world that blends fantasy, laughter, coming of age, and evocative literary stylings to create a perfect escape. Fans of The Goblin Emperor, The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet, The Language of Flowers, and Quarter Share will delight in this tale of humor, humanity, and the power of hope.

Click “Buy Now,” to curl up with your copy of Oil and Dust today!

 

What people are saying - Write a review

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Reviewed by K.C. Finn for Readers' Favorite
Oil and Dust is a work of fantasy fiction penned by author Jami Fairleigh. Written as the first book of The Elemental Artist series, the work is suited
to a mature adult audience owing to the presence of graphic violence, gore, and some intense subject matter, for which a variety of trigger warnings are kindly provided. This high concept and emotionally realistic journey takes us along for the ride with Matthew, who is on a quest to discover his birth family. With the unique ability to alter the physical world with his art, Matthew begins a blind exploration of a technology-less world using only his wits and talents to survive. And though his mystery destination calls to him deep in his soul, the people he meets along the way become just as important, especially when they are put in danger.
Author Jami Fairleigh has crafted a fantasy journey like no other because it is impossible not to become fully attached to Matthew and his highly emotional journey. From the visceral vistas of the stark new fantasy world, where life is incredibly hard without the everyday things we all take for granted, through to the incredible moments where Matthew uses his skills to change things (hopefully for the better), the story offers one poignant and captivating moment after the other. Many moments and key lines have taught me something profound that I will hold with me long after setting the work down. Overall, I would highly recommend Oil and Dust to readers of fantasy fiction who are looking for something original, high concept, and masterfully penned. A truly unforgettable read.
 

Selected pages

Contents

Chapter
Authors Note
About the Author
The Elemental Artist
Acknowledgments
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2021)

Jami Fairleigh is a writer, urban planner, and hobby collector from Washington. She shares her life with a husband, a trio of well-mannered horses, a pair of dubiously behaved parrots, and one neurotic dog. You can find her and more information about her writing at https://jamifairleigh.com/.

Bibliographic information