One Night Stands and Lost Weekends

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Nov 18, 2008 - Fiction - 384 pages
1 Review

In the era before he created moody private investigator Matthew Scudder, burglar Bernie Rhodenbarr, sleepless spy Evan Tanner, and the amiable hit man Keller—and years before his first Edgar Award—a young writer named Lawrence Block submitted a story titled "You Can't Lose" to Manhunt magazine. It was published, and the rest is history.

One Night Stands and Lost Weekends is a sterling collection of short crime fiction and suspense novelettes penned between 1958 and 1962 by a budding young master and soon-to-be Grand Master—an essential slice of genre history, and more fun than a high-speed police chase following a bank job gone bad.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

ONE NIGHT STANDS; and, Lost weekends

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This combo volume mates Block's 2001 short story volume One Night Stands with 1999's Lost Weekends novelettes, which collect his earliest published works (written in a single night or over a weekend ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

There are no shortage of psychologically driven stories here.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Lawrence Block is one of the most widely recognized names in the mystery genre. He has been named a Grand Master of the Mystery Writers of America and is a four-time winner of the prestigious Edgar and Shamus Awards, as well as a recipient of prizes in France, Germany, and Japan. He received the Diamond Dagger from the British Crime Writers' Association—only the third American to be given this award. He is a prolific author, having written more than fifty books and numerous short stories, and is a devoted New Yorker and an enthusiastic global traveler.

Bibliographic information