One Second After

Front Cover
Macmillan, Apr 26, 2011 - Fiction - 352 pages
33 Reviews

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon, an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and our end.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

a novel about what might happen

User Review  - daylily13 -

this novel is about what could happen in our world if the world went dark forever. it is frightening because it could happen. the story is about a family that tries to live through the problems created by the lack of power in their small world. for me it was a book that was hard to put down. Read full review

Could Happen Some Day

User Review  - havasu99 -

great book about the effects of electromagnetic pulse ... makes you wonder Read full review

All 8 reviews »

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

William R. Forstchen is the author of We Look Like Men of War, among numerous other books in diverse subjects ranging from history to science fiction. He has co-authored several books with Newt Gingrich, including Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War, Pearl Harbor, Days of Infamy, To Try Men's Souls and Valley Forge. Forstchen holds a Ph.D. in History from Purdue University, with specializations in military history and the history of technology. He is currently a Faculty Fellow and Professor of History at Montreat College, near Asheville North Carolina. He is a pilot and flies an original WWII recon "warbird." He resides near Asheville with his daughter Meghan.

Bibliographic information