Our Dawson Kin

Front Cover
S.M. Patin, 1980 - Reference - 225 pages
0 Reviews
Also included in this book, but located in Jefferson, Jenkins, Richmond, and Screven Counties, are 39 cemeteries in the main not far from the Burke County line. Burke County was one of the first eight counties created by the Constitution of 1777 after Georgia broke from British control and became an independent state. During the short period 1733-1752 when Georgia was a Trustee Colony, and later a part of this geographical area was known as "Halifax District". In 1793 a portion of Burke was cut off to help create Screven County and in 1796 another portion to form Jefferson County, and in 1905 to create Jenkins County. Waynesboro is the county seat and other cities are Midville, Sardis, Alexander, Blythe (partly in Richmond), Girard, Gough, Keysville, Rosier, Shaw Town, Shell Bluff, St. Clair, and Vidette.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Genea1ogy 1
Officia1 Documents
Additions and Corrections

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information