PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2011: The Best Stories of the Year

Front Cover
Laura Furman
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Sep 14, 2011 - Fiction - 432 pages
0 Reviews

The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2011 contains twenty unforgettable stories selected from hundreds of literary magazines. The winning tales take place in such far-flung locales as Madagascar, Nantucket, a Midwestern meth lab, Antarctica, and a post-apocalyptic England, and feature a fascinating array of characters: aging jazzmen, avalanche researchers, a South African wild child, and a mute actor in silent films. Also included are essays from the eminent jurors on their favorite stories, observations from the winners on what inspired them, and an extensive resource list of magazines.
Your Fate Hurtles Down at You
Jim Shepard
Diary of an Interesting Year
Helen Simpson
Judy Doenges
Kenneth Calhoun
The Restoration of the Villa Where Tibor Kálmán Once Lived
Tamas Dobozy
Lily Tuck
How to Leave Hialeah
Jennine Capó Crucet
The Junction
David Means
Pole, Pole
Susan Minot
Alamo Plaza
Brad Watson
The Black Square
Chris Adrian
Nothing of Consequence
Jane Delury
The Rules Are the Rules
Adam Foulds
The Vanishing American
Leslie Parry
Mark Slouka
Bed Death
Lori Ostlund
Brian Evenson
Lynn Freed
Never Come Back
Elizabeth Tallent
Something You Can’t Live Without
Matthew Neill Null
For author interviews, photos, and more,  go to 
A portion of the proceeds from this book will go to support the PEN Readers & Writers Literary Outreach Program.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Jim ShepardYour Fate Hurtles Down at You
Helen SimpsonDiary of an Interesting Year
Judy DoengesMelinda
Kenneth CalhounNightblooming
Tamas DobozyThe Restoration of the VillaWhere Tíbor Kálmán Once Lived
Lily TuckIce
Jennine Capó CrucetHow to Leave Hialeah
Leslie ParryThe Vanishing American
Mark SloukaCrossing
Lori OstlundBed Death
Brian EvensonWindeye
Lynn FreedSunshine
Elizabeth TallentNever Come Back
Matthew Neill NullSomething You Cant Live Without
Reading The PENO Henry Prize Stories 2011The Jurors on Their Favorites

David MeansThe Junction
Susan MinotPole Pole
Brad WatsonAlamo Plaza
Chris AdrianThe Black Square
Jane DeluryNothing of Consequence
Adam FouldsThe Rules Are the Rules
Writing The PENO Henry Prize Stories 2011The Writers on Their Work
Recommended Story 2011
Publications Submitted

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Laura Furman, series editor of The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories since 2003, is the winner of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts for her fiction. The author of seven books, including her recent story collection The Mother Who Stayed, she taught writing for many years at the University of Texas at Austin. She lives in Central Texas.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information