Packaging Girlhood: Rescuing Our Daughters from Marketers' Schemes

Front Cover
Macmillan, Apr 1, 2007 - Family & Relationships - 336 pages
7 Reviews

The stereotype-laden message, delivered through clothes, music, books, and TV, is essentially a continuous plea for girls to put their energies into beauty products, shopping, fashion, and boys. This constant marketing, cheapening of relationships, absence of good women role models, and stereotyping and sexualization of girls is something that parents need to first understand before they can take action.

Lamb and Brown teach parents how to understand these influences, give them guidance on how to talk to their daughters about these negative images, and provide the tools to help girls make positive choices about the way they are in the world.

In the tradition of books like Reviving Ophelia, Odd Girl Out, Queen Bees and Wannabees that examine the world of girls, this book promises to not only spark debate but help parents to help their daughters.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Zura27 - LibraryThing

I am sort of torn on this book. I really like the information presented and have been reading other books in this same genre. Since I've read a couple of similar books to this in the recent past, I'm ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - dms02 - LibraryThing

I'm checking out on this one. I wanted to like this book more - but I am struggling to get through it. The advice seemed very repetitious just a few chapters in. No rocket science here...if you care enough about raising girls to check out this book - then you are probably already on a good path. Read full review

Contents

Pretty in Pink What Girls Wear
13
See No Evil? What Girls Watch
57
Do You Hear What I Hear? What Girls Listen To
117
Reading Between the Lines What Girls Read
156
Wanna Play? What Girls Do
210
Rebel Resist Refuse
263
Notes
295
Index
309
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Sharon Lamb, Ed.D., author of The Secret Lives of Girls, is professor of Psychology at Saint Michael's College in Vermont. She not only has done research on girls and teens but has listened to their struggles in her private practice.

Lyn Mikel Brown, Ed.D., professor of Education at Colby College in Maine, is co-author, with Carol Gilligan, of Meeting at the Crossroads: Women's Psychology and Girls' Development. She works with girls at her nonprofit organization, Hardy Girls Healthy Women (www.hardygirlshealthywomen.org).

Bibliographic information