Palace of Desire

Front Cover
Anchor Books, 1992 - Fiction - 422 pages
4 Reviews
There are nineteen works of fiction currently available in paperback from Anchor.  Because of the many universal themes of Mahfouz's work, and the variety of titles from which one can choose, this guide has been designed to provide you with questions that can apply to any or all of the books by Mahfouz which you choose to read.   The questions offer new perspectives and context for your conversations. Although each of Mahfouz's novels is a unique reading experience, in an effort to guide you in making a selection, it is suggested that you might particularly be interested in one of the four following titles, each of which represents a different decade of his career:   Palace Walk (1956), Midaq Alley (1966), The Harafish (1977), and The Journey of Ibn Fattouma (1983).  For your convenience, a complete listing is included in this guide.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Donna828 - LibraryThing

The family of Al-Sayyid Ahmad Abd al-Jawad was devastated five years earlier by the death of beloved middle son Fahmy in a revolutionary uprising. Egypt is still loosely under the control of the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - brenzi - LibraryThing

Palace of Desire continues the epic story begun in the first book of Nobel Laureate Naguib Mahfouz’s highly acclaimed Cairo Trilogy. It picks up five years after the end of the first book. The Sayid ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1992)

Naguib Mahfouz was born in Cairo in 1911 and began writing when he was seventeen. A student of philosophy and an avid reader, his works range from reimaginings of ancient myths to subtle commentaries on contemporary Egyptian politics and culture. Over a career that lasted more than five decades, he wrote 33 novels, 13 short story anthologies, numerous plays, and 30 screenplays. Of his many works, most famous is The Cairo Trilogy, consisting of Palace Walk (1956), Palace of Desire (1957), and Sugar Street (1957), which focuses on a Cairo family through three generations, from 1917 until 1952. In 1988, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, the first writer in Arabic to do so. He died in August 2006.

Bibliographic information