Patriot Act: A Lachlan Fox Thriller

Front Cover
Hachette Australia, Jul 1, 2010 - Fiction - 480 pages
1 Review
Lachlan Fox heard his name over the PA system at JFK. At the airline service counter, a typed note was waiting for him. 'Go to the third payphone near the first set of toilets ahead of you. It will ring at 9.45pm. Answer it.'

September 11 changed everything. The US Patriot Act has given the UKUSA treaty countries free rein to use their ECHELON surveillance program to monitor every spoken or written word transmitted throughout the world. In the wrong hands it could bring down governments and threaten the safety of millions.

Ex-navy operative and investigative journalist Lachlan Fox has information hinting at the true reach of ECHELON ... and he starts to suspect someone is ruthlessly trying to access its power. Can he uncover the answers before the course of history is altered forever?

The Lachlan Fox Series
Fox Hunt
Patriot Act
Blood Oil
Liquid Gold
Red Ice

The Jed Walker Series
The Spy
The Hunted

James Phelan is the bestselling author of twenty-four novels and one work of non-fiction. From his teens he wanted to be a novelist but first tried his hand at a real job, studying and working in architecture before turning to English literature, spending five years at a newspaper and obtaining an MA and PhD in writing. James has published five thrillers in the Lachlan Fox series: Fox Hunt, Patriot Act, Blood Oil, Liquid Gold and Red Ice, as well as the Alone Trilogy of young adult post-apocalyptic novels for Hachette Children's and a thirteen-book series for Scholastic. Jed Walker was first introduced in 2013's The Spy, which was followed by The Hunted and Kill Switch in 2015. James lives in Melbourne.

For more information visit

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - felius - LibraryThing

This is an entertaining read, a Hollywood blockbuster action movie in book form. I look forward to seeing what comes next. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

James Phelan has written the thrillers BLOOD OIL, FOX HUNT, LIQUID GOLD and PATRIOT ACT. He is also the author of the young adult novel CHASERS, the first book in the gripping post-apocalyptic Alone trilogy.