Prettyboy Must Die: A Novel

Front Cover
Tom Doherty Associates, Feb 13, 2018 - Young Adult Fiction - 240 pages
1 Review

A CIA prodigy's cover is blown when he accidentally becomes an internet sensation in #Prettyboy Must Die, Kimberly Reid's fun, fast thriller inspired by the #Alexfromtarget story and perfect for fans of Alex Rider.

When Peter Smith’s classmate snaps a picture of him during a late night run at the track, Peter thinks he might be in trouble. When she posts that photo—along with the caption, “See the Pretty Boy Run,”—Peter knows he’s in trouble. But when hostiles drop through the ceiling of his 6th period Chem Class, Peter’s pretty sure his trouble just became a national emergency.

Because he’s not really Peter Smith. He’s Jake Morrow, former foster-kid turned CIA operative. After a massive screw-up on his first mission, he's on a pity assignment, a dozen hit lists and now, social media, apparently. As #Prettyboy, of all freaking things.

His cover’s blown, his school’s under siege, and if he screws up now, #Prettyboy will become #Deadboy faster than you can say, 'fifteen minutes of fame.' Trapped in a high school with rabid killers and rabid fans, he’ll need all his training and then some to save his job, his school and, oh yeah, his life.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - brangwinn - LibraryThing

Oh, my! As I was reading this book, I kept thinking how di the author come up with the idea for this crazy novel. Was it that game, where one person starts a story, and then the next person adds to it ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
7
Section 2
11
Section 3
29
Section 4
36
Section 5
44
Section 6
51
Section 7
57
Section 8
65
Section 20
144
Section 21
152
Section 22
161
Section 23
173
Section 24
183
Section 25
191
Section 26
201
Section 27
208

Section 9
72
Section 10
77
Section 11
83
Section 12
90
Section 13
97
Section 14
104
Section 15
109
Section 16
118
Section 17
123
Section 18
131
Section 19
138
Section 28
215
Section 29
223
Section 30
234
Section 31
241
Section 32
247
Section 33
254
Section 34
262
Section 35
271
Section 36
276
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

Kimberly Reid prepared early for life as a writer of criminals, sleuths, and international spies—even if she didn’t realize it back then. She lucked into a family who works in police departments, courtrooms, and as private investigators. She attended a high school focused on international relations and later, studied national security policy in college. Now Kimberly lives in Colorado and writes stories about all of those things. Her books include Prettyboy Must Die, Perfect Liars, and My Own Worst Frenemy and the memoir No Place Safe, which has been optioned for television by ABC Signature studios and Oscar-winning screenwriter John Ridley.

Bibliographic information