Prime Time Network Serials: Episode Guides, Casts, and Credits for 37 Continuing Television Dramas, 1964-1993

Front Cover
McFarland & Company, 1997 - Performing Arts - 841 pages
0 Reviews
In 1964, ABC launched a programming experiment, developing a prime time series similar to the daytime soap operas that were so successful. Peyton Place debuted on September 15, 1964, and was a fixture on the network's schedule for the next five years. The success of Dallas in the early 1980s made the prime time soap opera a staple of television programming. From Bare Essence through The Yellow Rose, this reference work details the successes and failures of 37 prime time serials that appeared on network television through 1993. For each show, there is a lengthy history that covers the character development and provides production details. That is followed by a season-by-season guide to the show, providing start and end of the season, time slot, comprehensive cast and credits, and an episode guide.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


How to Use This Book
Beacon Hill

20 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information