Queen's Gambit

Front Cover
Penguin UK, Mar 14, 2013 - Fiction - 480 pages
25 Reviews

If you love the BBC's The White Queen you'll love this.

Meet the woman who survived Henry VIII in Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit...

My name is Katherine Parr.
I'm 31 years old and already twice widowed.
I'm in love with a man I can't have, and am about to wed a man no-one would want - for my husband-to-be is none other than Henry VIII, who has already beheaded two wives, cast aside two more, and watched one die in childbirth.

What will become of me once I'm wearing his ring and become Queen of England?

They say that the sharpest blades are sheathed in the softest pouches.
Only time will tell what I am really made of...

For fans of Hilary Mantel, Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, Elizabeth Fremantle's first novel, Queen's Gambit, is a riveting account of the Tudor queen who married four men and outlived three of them - including Henry VIII.

Rich in atmosphere and period detail, and told through the eyes of Katherine and her young maid Dot, it tells the story of two very different women during a terrifying and turbulent time. If you loved Wolf Hall, The Other Boleyn Girl or the BBC drama series The Tudors, then Elizabeth Fremantle's Queen's Gambit is the book for you.

'Gripping' Woman & Home
'Sumptuous' Metro
'A major new voice in historical fiction'The Bookseller
'Rich and enticing' Stylist
'Electric' Good Housekeeping
'Wildly entertaining' Huffington Post

Elizabeth Fremantle holds a first in English and an MA in creative Writing from Birkbeck. As a Fashion Editor she has contributed to various publications including Vogue, Elle, Vanity Fair and the Erotic Review and has had her fiction published in the Mechanic's Institute Review. Queen's Gambit is her first novel; her second, Sisters of Treason, will be published early in 2014.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
9
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Cariola - LibraryThing

Katherine Parr seems to be this year's hot ticket as far as the Tudors go. I've seen at least three new novels focused on Henry VIII's last wife, and more seem to be popping up regularly on my Amazon ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - greatbookescapes - LibraryThing

This is a beautifully written book that had me enthralled. Fremantle shows a totally different axis to Katherine Parr and court leading to her marriage to King Henry VIII. Although this appears to be ... Read full review

All 25 reviews »

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Elizabeth Fremantle is the critically acclaimed author of Queen's Gambit, Sisters of Treason, Watch the Lady and The Girl in the Glass Tower. She holds a first for her BA in English and an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck. She lives in London.

Bibliographic information