Front Cover
Alfred A. Knopf, 1994 - Fiction - 224 pages
1 Review
The voice is insistent, attractive, persuasive - the voice of a cultured Osaka lady, unfortunately widowed young. Sonoko Kakiuchi's story, however, is unsettlingly at odds with her image. It is a tale of infatuation and deceit, of deliberate evil. Its theme is humiliation, its victim Sonoko's mild-mannered lawyer husband. And at its center - seducing, manipulating, enslaving - is one of the most extraordinary characters ever created by the great Japanese novelist Junichiro Tanizaki, the beautiful and totally corrupt art student Mitsuko. Partly a black comedy - the plot sometimes resembles bedroom farce - partly an exploration of sexual obsession and pain, Quicksand is the last major Tanizaki novel to be translated, largely because of the extreme difficulty in capturing the narrator's precise tone in English. In this Howard Hibbett has succeeded brilliantly. As a master-work on the level of Some Prefer Nettles and Diary of a Mad Old Man, and as a triumph of the translator's art, Quicksand is both important and utterly engrossing.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Best Novel Ever Written

User Review  - Asian Lit Girl - Borders

This novel is so cleverly written it poses the question: How did Tanizaki know so much about the inner workings of the female mind? Not only is the book a fantastic read for anyone looking for a few ... Read full review


User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Good news for Tanizaki fans: the master Japanese novelist, author of The Makioka Sisters and Some Prefer Nettles (both currently available from Perigee: Putnam. 1981) , is ably represented by two new ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

22 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Junichiro Tanizaki was born in Tokyo in 1886 and lived there until the earthquake of 1923, when he moved to the Kyoto-Osaka region, the scene of his novel The Makioka Sisters (1943-48). Among his works are Naomi (1924), Some Prefer Nettles (1928), Quicksand (1930), Arrowroot (1931), A Portrait of Shunkin (1933), The Secret History of the Lord of Musashi (1935), modern versions of The Tale of Genji (1941, 1954, and 1965), Captain Shigemoto's Mother (1949), The Key (1956), and Diary of a Mad Old Man (1961). By 1930 he had gained such renown that an edition of his complete works was published, and he was awarded Japan's Imperial Prize in Literature in 1949. Tanizaki died in 19

Bibliographic information