Front Cover
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Aug 17, 2009 - Juvenile Fiction - 240 pages
3 Reviews
Warring birds battle over the city of Boston in an action-packed fantasy.

In this engrossing story for older middle-graders, hundreds of birds of prey have been driven out of the Berkshires by encroaching human development. They head toward Boston, which is already occupied by the birds of the city—but that won’t stop the raptors. Soon the Talon Empire and the Feathered Alliance are at war, and as the battle ensues, an unlikely hero emerges to defend his home: a young swallow named Ragtag.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Excellent book! Read it when I was younger, and I have just ordered it hoping to relive the memories! Easily in my top 5 underrated books! Must read!

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

As the people of Boston go about their business unaware, the Feathered Alliance—consisting of sparrows, swallows, pigeons, and other city birds—prepares for battle. The raptors, who previously occupied the adjacent woods, have been routed by clearing of the land. Now they seek to take over the city, and their superior size and might assure their victory. When Ragtag, a small and insignificant swallow, stumbles onto an eagle that is tangled in ropes and sets him free, the bird of prey promises to stand with the Feathered Alliance. But then he disappears, and Ragtag must find a way to prove to his friends that he was not lying about the eagle. In the vein of Erin Hunter's "Warriors" series (HarperCollins) and Kathryn Lasky's "Guardians of Ga'Hoole" (Scholastic), this novel opens up the world of these lively feathered creatures and their way of life. The story line moves quickly, making it a good choice for reluctant readers. The qualities of friendship, loyalty, and sacrifice are themes explored as Ragtag and his friends battle for their lives and homes. An enjoyable read that could easily become a series 


A Swallow Named Ragtag
The Monster in the Attic
The Council Meeting
The Treachery of the Crows
The Birds of Prey
The Invasion of Boston
The Falcon Emperor
A Symbol of Hope
The Quest Begins
Predators and Prey
A Means to an End
The Broken Promise
The Trap Is Sprung

The Fall of the Belfry
The Bridge in the Garden
The Old South Church
The Rescue
Hoogol and Bergelmir
Lokis Redemption
The Greatest Symphony

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information