Raising Jake

Front Cover
Kensington Publishing Corp., Sep 1, 2009 - Fiction - 352 pages
6 Reviews
The best kind of journey, one you don't want to end. . .funny, moving. --Mike Lupica, New York Times bestselling author of Heat

In Charlie Carillo's funny, insightful novel, a divorced man gets to know his seventeen-year-old son in a tale that rewrites the book on quality time together. . .

Sammy Sullivan is working his way down the ladder of success. Divorced and pushing fifty, his relationships have the longevity of a fruit fly. But how many men can get themselves fired and have their only son expelled from prep school all in one day? Now, after almost eighteen years, he and Jake may finally get to know each other. (That's if his ex-wife--the super-achiever Sammy can only dream of being--doesn't find out.) Jake knows virtually nothing about his roots. So, Sammy shows him the old neighborhood in the far reaches of Queens. But it's been thirty years. The older woman Sammy lost his virginity to now uses a walker to get around. Most of his hangouts are long gone. It's dreary, born-to-lose stuff. But Jake is on a mission. Wise beyond his (and his dad's) years, he doesn't want his father to miss out the second time around on the good things he blew the first time. And they've got a whole weekend together--a journey where Sammy will confront his, dysfunctional childhood and Jake will face a past he never knew he had.

This isn't your typical father-son story--one is still growing up. The other is his son.

"In the tradition of Tom Perotta, Carillo explores the strength of the family bond, the power of forgiveness, and the hope that comes from embracing second chances. . .truthful, and hilarious."--Alison Grambs, author of The Smart Girls Guide to Getting Even

"I don't like funny, touching novels because they make me wish I'd written them myself. I enjoyed Charlie Carillo's book from beginning to end and now I'm miserable." --Sherwood Kiraly, author of Diminished Capacity

"A literary romp through the minefields of a totally normal, and totally abnormal, family. . . I actually laughed out loud and kept turning the pages to make absolutely sure that all worked out at the end." --Cathy Lamb, author of Henry's Sisters

"Scathingly hilarious and truthful." --Sally Jenkins

Queens-born Charlie Carillo, like his protagonist Sam Sullivan, worked at the New York Post as a journalist for many years. He is also the author of My Ride with Gus and divides his time between New York City and London, England, where he works as an independent television producer.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Dmtcer - LibraryThing

Sammy is called to Jake's school one Friday afternoon for an emergency meeting with the school's headmaster. This meeting sets off a chain of events that by Sunday has completely changed the course of ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - evensonly - LibraryThing

This is an exceptional coming of age story about a weekend with a father and son. It ties serious topics with humor and is a very smooth read. I really enjoyed the flashbacks the father had to his ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
11
Section 3
18
Section 4
28
Section 5
45
Section 6
54
Section 7
63
Section 8
82
Section 15
184
Section 16
196
Section 17
206
Section 18
213
Section 19
221
Section 20
243
Section 21
260
Section 22
276

Section 9
101
Section 10
108
Section 11
121
Section 12
141
Section 13
152
Section 14
170
Section 23
287
Section 24
302
Section 25
322
Section 26
335
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information