Ralestone Luck

Front Cover
The Floating Press, Dec 1, 2011 - Fiction - 243 pages
4 Reviews
Though Andre Norton made her name as one of the first female writers to find acclaim in the male-dominated genre of science fiction, Ralestone Luck is one of Norton's forays into historical fantasy and fiction. This thrill-a-minute tale follows a group of siblings on a quest to retrieve a storied ancient sword that will restore their family's glory and power.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SunnySD - LibraryThing

A missing sword, a large cat, an impoverished family, and an ancestral pile and lots of intrigue makes for a somewhat dated, but still readable story. Norton, as always, does better with familiial ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JulesJones - LibraryThing

1930s pulp novel which was contemporary fiction in its day and period fiction now. Two brothers and a sister, almost the last of a titled family descended from an English aristocrat who turned pirate ... Read full review


Chapter I The Ralestones Come Home
Chapter II The Luck of the Lords of Lorne
Chapter III The Ralestones Entertain an Unobtrusive Visitor
Chapter IV Pistols for TwoCoffee for One
Chapter V Their Tenant Discovers the Ralestones
Chapter VI Satan Goes AHunting and Finds Work for Idle Hands
Chapter VII By Our Luck
Chapter VIII GreatUncle Rick Walks the Hall
Chapter XI Ralestones to the Rescue
Chapter XII The Ralestones Bring Home a Reluctant Guest
Chapter XIII On Such a Night as this
Chapter XIV Pirate Ways Are Hidden Ways
Chapter XV Pieces of EightRalestones Fate
Chapter XVI Ralestones Stand Together
Chapter XVII The Return of Rick Ralestone
Chapter XVIII Rupert Brings Home His Marchioness

Chapter IX Portrait of a Lady and a Gentleman
Chapter X Into the Swamp

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Born Alice Mary Norton on February 17, 1912 in Cleveland, Ohio, she legally changed her name to Andre Alice Norton in 1934. She attended the Flora Stone Mather College of Western Reserve University (now Case Western Reserve) for a year then took evening courses in journalism and writing that were offered by Cleveland College, the adult division of the same university. Norton was a librarian for the Cleveland Library System then a reader at Gnome Press. After that position, she became a full-time writer. She is most noted for writing fantasy, in particular the Witch World series. Her first book The Prince of Commands was published in 1934. Other titles include Ralestone Luck, Magic in Ithkar, Voorloper, Uncharted Stars, The Gifts of Asti and All Cats are Gray. She also wrote under the pen names Andre Norton, Andrew North and Allen Weston She was the first woman to receive the Gandalf Grand Master of Fantasy and the Nebula Grand Master Award. She has also received a Phoenix Award for overall writing achievement, a Jules Verne Award, and a Science Fiction Book Club Book of the Year Award for her title The Elvenbane. In 1997 she was inducted into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. She died on March 17, 2005.

Bibliographic information