Random: A terrifying and highly inventive debut thriller

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Apr 1, 2010 - Fiction - 336 pages
5 Reviews
'Robertson is doing for Glasgow what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror

Glasgow is being terrorised by a serial killer the media have nicknamed The Cutter. The murders have left the police baffled. There seems to be neither rhyme nor reason behind the killings; no kind of pattern or motive; an entirely different method of murder each time, and nothing that connects the victims except for the fact that the little fingers of their right hands have been severed.

If DS Rachel Narey could only work out the key to the seemingly random murders, how and why the killer selects his victims, she would be well on her way to catching him. But as the police, the press and a threatening figure from Glasgow's underworld begin to close in on The Cutter, his carefully-laid plans threaten to unravel - with horrifying consequences.

Brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Random is Craig Robertson's debut thriller and was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger. Look out for the new novel In Place of Death.
 
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RowingRabbit - LibraryThing

If you've read the blurb above you know the main plot of this book. A serial killer is loose in Glasgow & the frustration felt by the police is matched only by the public's fear as seemingly random ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Ameise1 - LibraryThing

It's Robertson's first book of the Glasgow serie and an astonishing work. While there are six victims which all of them were brutally murdered, the insight of the killer's feeling and thinking are ... Read full review

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Craig Robertson is a Sunday Times bestselling author, and his debut novel, Random, was shortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger. During his twenty-year career with a Scottish Sunday newspaper, Craig Robertson interviewed three recent prime ministers and reported on major stories including 9/11, the Dunblane school massacre, the Omagh car bombing, and the disappearance of Madeleine McCann.

Bibliographic information