Front Cover
Trafford Publishing, 2008 - Fiction - 296 pages
3 Reviews

Jake Lalonde, a brilliant young archaeologist and a staunch protector of ancient sites, follows his fiancée, Angeline, to the South Pacific kingdom of Tonga to investigate a rare archaeological relic-the Ravenstone. The cunning black bird etched on this stone artifact is a dominant figure in British Columbia's native Haida mythology. Jake is half-Haida and the raven is his family's crest. His hope in visiting Tonga is to discover how a North Pacific Haida art symbol ended up on a stone of execution half a world away on a sunbaked tropical island where no ravens have ever existed. The symbol carved on this stone is indistinguishable from an image engraved into a granite cliff on British Columbia's Queen Charlotte Islands. A beguiling, mysterious art dealer, who unexpectedly appears in Tonga at the same time that Jake and Angeline arrive, holds the key to the riddle of the identical stones.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - AmanitaMuscaria - LibraryThing

I also received this book as a member's giveaway. I do not normally like starting a series part way through and I was concerned that if intended to be a stand alone book, there would need to be a lot ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Jennisis - LibraryThing

From the Pacific coast of British Columbia to the Polynesian island of Tonga, the Haida artifacts display a story for those who know how to look. Jake Lalonde is trying to discover his heritage ... Read full review

About the author (2008)

Deborah Cannon was born in Vancouver, British Columbia. She is the author of numerous novels and short stories, most of which were inspired by myths and legends. She has contributed to articles on writing to the Canadian Writer's Guide and is author of Writing Bestsellers: A Journey through the Challenging World of Publishing, an ebook based on articles she wrote for a feature column at the website Suite 101.com (2003-2006). She is best known for The Raven Chronicles, a series of paranormal archaeological thrillers, which to date include Raven Dawn (prequel), The Raven's Pool, White Raven, Ravenstone, and Raven's Blood. Elizabeth Latimer, Pirate Hunter is a young adult series, which so far include The Virtual Pirate (prequel), The Pirate Vortex, and The Jade Pirate. She lives in Hamilton, Ontario with her archaeologist husband and two Shih-poos.

Bibliographic information