Red Prophet: The Tales of Alvin Maker -, Volume 1

Front Cover
Marvel, Mar 19, 2008 - Comics & Graphic Novels - 168 pages
In an alternate history of the American frontier where folk magic actually works, Andrew Jackson is a lawyer in Tenezzy, Napoleon commands an army in Detroit, and William Henry Harrison has named himself governor of Carthage City, and he has big plans to expand his authority along the Mizzipy river. But standing in his way is the Shaw-nee chief Takumsaw, who has no desire to see his fellow Red Men enslaved by the White Men and their like and who begins arming his tribe with the intent of war. And soon, there arises another figure, a man who calls himself the "Red Prophet," who calls for peace and separation, and who teaches the Red Men to restore their connection to the land. But something else is happening on the frontier, as a young boy named Alvin Miller finds himself endowed with the powers of a "Maker," with the ability to change the world around him as he sees fit. And in an encounter with the Red Prophet, Alvin must learn to use his powers either to further the cause of his enemy, the Unmaker, or to create good things for the benefit of others. Alvin's decision will change the course of his life forever, but the consequences will also prevent him from using his power to prevent the coming war.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

5 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Orson Scott Byron Walley Card, was born in 1951 and studied theater at Brigham Young University. He received his B.A. in 1975 and his M.A. in English in 1981. He wrote plays during that time, including Stone Tables (1973) and the musical, Father, Mother, Mother and Mom (1974). A Mormon, Scott served a two-year mission in Brazil before starting work as a journalist in Utah. He also designed games at Lucas Film Games, 1989-92. He is best known for his science fiction novels, including the popular Ender series. Well known titles include A Planet Called Treason (1979), Treasure Box (1996), and Heartfire (1998). He has also written the guide called How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy (1990). His novel Ender's Game and its sequel Speaker for the Dead, both won Hugo and Nebula awards, making Card the only author to win both prizes in consecutive years. His titles Shadows in Flight, Ruins and Ender's Game made The New York Times Best Seller List. He is also the author of The First Formic War Series, which includes the titles Earth Unaware, Earth Afire, and Earth Awakens.

Bibliographic information