Requiem in Full Score

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 1998 - Music - 284 pages
0 Reviews

Widely considered Verdi's masterpiece, the "Requiem" was written in 1873 as a tribute to poet, novelist, and patriot Alessandro Manzoni, one of the few individuals whom Verdi revered. Reflecting the powerful theatrical tradition in which the composer worked all his life, the ""Manzoni" Requiem" has been called Verdi's greatest operatic achievement. "Grove's Dictionary" noted that "the Mass for the Dead provided [Verdi] with one of the most dramatic texts and some of the most dramatic situations he had ever set, and he responded to them with high inspiration, rhythmic, sonic, and structural."
This unabridged orchestral score is scored for solo vocal quartet, full chorus, and enlarged orchestra including the massive brass choir, offstage and on, featured in the memorable "Tuba mirum" ("The trumpet shall sound"). Reproduced here from an authoritative early edition, the score appears with bar-numbered movements and ample margins at the bottom of each score page for notes and analysis. Ideal for study in the classroom, at home, or in the concert hall, this affordable, high-quality, conveniently sized volume will be the edition of choice for music students and music lovers alike."


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Giuseppe Verdi Giuseppe Verdi was born on October 10, 1813 in Le Ronocole, duchy of Parma, Italy. He studied with Vincenzo Lavigna, a musician at the La Scala opera house. After Oberto, his first opera, Verdi left La Scala due to the untimely death of his wife and children. After some time, Verdi was convinced to come back and compose Nabucco, an opera based on Nebuchadrezzar II. Verdi then went on to compose the classics Rigoletto, Il Trovatore, La Traviata, Othello and Falstaff. Giuseppe Verdi died in Milan, Italy on January 27, 1901.

Bibliographic information