Front Cover
Penguin, 2007 - Fiction - 549 pages
1 Review
The first three Shardlake mysteries have won over critics and readers alike. In Revelation, Sansom's newest book in the series, the year is 1543 and King Henry VIII is wooing Lady Catherine Parr, a woman sympathetic to reform, whom he wants for his sixth wife- much to the dismay of Archbishop Cranmer and the embattled Protestant faction at court. Meanwhile, Matthew Shardlake is working to defend a teenage boy, a religious fanatic who is being held in the infamous Bedlam hospital for the insane. When an old friend of Shardlake's is murdered, he vows to bring the killer to justice. His search leads him back to Bedlam but also to Catherine Parr-and the dark prophecies of the Book of Revelation. As Bishop Bonner prepares to purge London of Protestants, Shardlake, with his assistant Jack Barak, uncovers a series of horrific murders that shake them all to the core. Revelation-the strongest novel in the series to date-is sure to delight Sansom's many fans and bring him to a wider audience.

What people are saying - Write a review

Mystery in history

User Review  - amo books - Borders

A different kind of mystery novel. It takes place during the reign of King Henry VIII as he is waiting for Catherine Parr's answer to his proposal for her to become his 6th wife. A madman murdering ... Read full review


User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Seven avenging angels pouring out their vials of wrath. Seven gruesome ways to die. In Sansom's fourth series entry (after Sovereign), Shardlake, a London lawyer in 1543, discovers the murdered body ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

C. J. Sansom was a lawyer before becoming a full-time writer. He is a bestselling novelist in the United Kingdom, he has a PhD in history.

Bibliographic information