Riding on the Edge: A Motorcycle Outlaw's Tale

Front Cover
MBI Publishing Company LLC, 2008 - Transportation - 301 pages
2 Reviews

Ride with author John Hall into the turbulent world of 1960s bike club culture, from the time he joined an upstart motorcycle club from Dixie, and rose to become Long Island chapter president of the Pagans, a club that the FBI called "the most violent criminal organization in America." Follow him into the Pagan heartland of Pennsylvania where he fell in love, got in a roadhouse brawl over a honky-tonk angel, and eventually went to jail for "takin' care a club business." Now after a career as a journalist and college professor, he returns to the violent days of his youth and smashes up stereotypes like he once smashed up bars, resurrecting long-dead brothers, in a style reminiscent of Jack Kerouac and Mark Twain.  Hall presents them as they really were: hard living, hard loving, hard drinking, hard fighting rebels, but also hardworking, patriotic, loyal, and lovable characters, and a band of brothers whose outlandish behavior forged an all-American outlaw legend in the tradition of Jesse James, Doc Holliday, John Dillinger, and Pretty Boy Floyd.  Outlaws yes, but outlaws as American as apple pie.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

Excellent read

User Review  - cyclefreak - Borders

This book has you riding along with the Pagans in their glory days. An excellent read, impossible to put down until you've finished it, even if you know nothing about outlaw motorcycle clubs when you begin. John Hall is a gifted writer. Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

I have meet john on a few occasions through a mutual friend and let me tell you Mr hall is one of the most interesting persons I know. He is as intriguing as his book if not more. When we meet its usually for lunch were we sit enjoying a dark beer. I'm like a child in a daze of amazement and amusement as he tells the stories of his life. I always wanted to be a outlaw biker and after reading this book I cant decide if I'm scared have to death or exited beyond belief. So to summarize this book i never was able to read a book straight through until I got this one 14 hrs later I put book to a close and all I can say is WOW!! 5 STARS FOR YOUR BOOK JOHN 5 STARS.
Steve
 

Selected pages

Contents

Chapter 1
13
Chapter 2
33
Chapter 3
41
Chapter 4
61
Chapter 5
75
Chapter 6
89
Chapter 7
105
Chapter 8
119
Chapter 12
183
Chapter 13
193
Chapter 14
207
Chapter 15
219
Chapter 16
237
Chapter 17
253
Chapter 18
271
Chapter 19
285

Chapter 9
139
Chapter 10
149
Chapter 11
163
Afterthoughts
299
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

A former chapter president of the Long Island Pagans, John Hall has done time in the state pen, as well as Penn State, where he taught history, American studies, rhetoric, and mathematics.  He also worked as bouncer, bartender, bookmaker, stonemason, professional gambler, law clerk, and freelance journalist.  He has written over 400 syndicated opinion columns, which have appeared in over a dozen newspapers, including the Houston Post and Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. He has raised seven children, half the time as a single parent. He currently lives in a 127-year-old dilapidated farmhouse in the Appalachian Mountains, where he seeks what George Jean Nathan once described as the three essentials of life: reasonable well prepared food, a moderately alcoholic diet, and the amiable company of amiable women.                                      

Bibliographic information