Rotten Gods

Front Cover
HarperCollins Australia, Jul 1, 2012 - Fiction - 512 pages
6 Reviews

In the tradition of Ludlum, Clancy, le Carre and MacLean, comes Greg Barron's first critically acclaimed, page-turning, thought-provoking thriller.

It took seven days to create the world ... now they have seven days to save it.

Extremists hijack the conference centre where heads of state have gathered in an attempt to bring society back from the brink of global environmental catastrophe, and the clock starts ticking: seven days until certain death for presidents and prime ministers alike, unless the terrorists' radical demands are met.

Marika, an Australian intelligence officer, Isabella, a treasonous British diplomat, Simon, an airline pilot searching for his missing daughters, and Madoowbe, a mysterious Somali agent, are all forced to examine their motives, faith and beliefs as they attempt to stave off disaster, hurtling towards the deadline and a shattering climax.

Rotten Gods is both an imaginative tour de force and a dire warning, holding the reader spellbound until the last breathtaking page.

Greg Barron is a world traveller who has studied International Terrorism at the prestigious St Andrew's University. His critically acclaimed thrillers reflect his fascination with political, social and environmental change.

Praise for Greg Barron's novels:

'Barron is not one to pull his punches' Courier-Mail

'Barron echoes the work of authors such as MacLean, Clancy and Ludlum' Canberra Times

'A high-octane thriller ... the pace is excellent, the writing is sharp and Barron has a real talent for the evocation of place ... sufficiently gripping to keep you up at night' The Australian

'Combines the very best of a thriller by Tom Clancy with the Boys' Own action blockbuster of someone like Chris Ryan. the speed of the action is matched only by the sophistication of the prose and the originality of the plot. Greg Barron has proved he is a political thriller writer at the very top of his game.' ABC Weekend Bookworm

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - smik - LibraryThing

ROTTEN GODS is not a quick read, but don't let that put you off - it is well worth your attention and signals the arrival another Australian author to put on your "look for" list. There is nothing ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Balthazar-Lawson - LibraryThing

I enjoyed this, but perhaps because I do think that the west is a wasteful society that consumes without thought and because some of the most heinous acts are performed in the name of religion ... Read full review

All 6 reviews »

Contents

The First
The Second
The Third
The Fourth
The Fifth
The Sixth
The Seventh
Aftermath
Reading Group Questions
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Greg Barron has lived in both North America and Australia, and studied International Terrorism at Scotland’s prestigious St Andrew’s University. He has visited five of the world’s seven continents, once canoed down a flooded tropical river, and crossed Arnhem Land on foot. Greg’s writing reflects his interests in political, social and environmental change. He lives on a small farm in Eastern Australia’s coastal hinterland with his wife and two sons.

Bibliographic information