Sables y utopías: visiones de América Latina

Front Cover
Aguilar, 1967 - History - 460 pages
0 Reviews
Selección de ensayos escritos por MVLL donde se refleja su recorrido intelectual y su posición frente a los grandes acontecimientos de la historia latinoamericana: dictadura, democracia, populismo, indigenismo, corrupción, etc.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Sables y utopias /Essays by Vargas Llosa. His Vision About Latin America: Visiones de America Latina (Spanish Edition)

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This text represents a lifetime of the thought and intellectual development of acclaimed Peruvian writer Vargas Llosa. Comprising mostly essays, articles, and correspondence, the book allows readers ... Read full review


El país de las mil caras
Carta abierta al general Juan Velasco Alvarado

23 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1967)

The writer, politician, and journalist Mario Vargas Llosa was born in Arequipa, Peru on March 28, 1936. From 1950 to 1952 he attended Lima's Leoncio Prado Military Academy. He was also enrolled at the Colegio Nacional San Miguel de Piura. He studied literature and law at the National University of San Marcos and received his Ph.D from the University of Madrid in 1959. Considered to be one of Latin America's most significant novelists and essayists, he rose to fame in the 1960s with such controversial novels as The Time of the Hero, The Green House, and Conversation in the Cathedral. His works vary in genre from literary criticism and journalism to comedies, murder mysteries, historical novels, and political thrillers. His other works include Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter, The Feast of the Goat, and The War of the End of the World. He has won many awards for his writing, including the Rómulo Gallegos International Novel Prize, the Premio Leopoldo Alas in 1959, the Premio Biblioteca Breve in 1962, the Premio Planeta in1993, the Miguel de Cervantes Prize in 1994, the Jerusalem Prize in 1995, and the Nobel Prize in Literature in 2010.

Bibliographic information