Safari

Front Cover
Macmillan, 2011 - Adventure stories - 570 pages
3 Reviews
A heart-racing thriller from the master of adventure"Park captures the essence of Africa in his writing better than most locals could hope to" The CitizenThe hunt begins ...A volatile Zimbabwe and the jungles of the Democratic Republic of Congo are the battlefields for a deadly game of cat and mouse in Africa's wildlife wars.Canadian researcher Michelle Parker jumps at the chance to visit the famed mountain gorillas, but she is wary of the man offering it - professional big-game hunter, Fletcher Reynolds.Fletcher represents all Michelle's fought against - the slaughter of animals for material gain - but she is reassured by his apparent support for the stamping out of poaching.Ex-SAS officer Shane Castle has been recruited by Fletcher to spearhead the anti-poaching campaign. Shane has seen what bullets can do - to both human and animal - and makes Michelle start to doubt the choices she has made ...Fans of David Baldacci, Wilbur Smith and Ken Follett will love Tony Park.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Safari is the fourth novel by Australian author, Tony Park. Fletcher Reynolds is a white Zimbabwean who owns Isilwane Lodge, near the Hwange Game Reserve, and runs a game safari business. Despite the political situation in that country, the safaris are popular with overseas tourists, but poaching is a major problem, so he employs ex-SAS mercenary, Shane Castle as his head of security. For Zimbabwe-born, Australian-raised Castle, this comes at a good time as his actions in Iraq have put his future in doubt. For Canadian-born zoologist, Michelle Parker, her future as a researcher of African wild dogs is also in doubt when her funding is withdrawn. But Fletcher has had his eye on Michelle for a while, and with a windfall in safari income, offers her a position in his newly created Isilwane Wildlife Conservation Foundation. Michelle is, however, a woman of principles and hesitant to accept funding from a man who fairly obviously would like more than just friendship. Shane’s anti-poaching team notches up some successes, and one of Fletcher’s benefactors wants to expand operations to a concession near the Viruga National Park in the Democratic Republic of Congo, in the mountains that form the home of endangered gorillas. But what, exactly, are these foreign hunters so eager to bag? In this novel, Park explores several topical issues: poaching and wildlife conservation; game hunting; the toll of AIDS/HIV in Africa; political unrest, corruption and poverty; and environmental damage. Park gives the reader complex characters who are often not what they first appear. His plot is original with a few twists and a dramatic climax (or two), and he deftly demonstrates how the lure of money can undermine principles and how disease and desperation can shift loyalties. Park’s own Army background, his extensive research and his first-hand knowledge of Africa are evident in every line of text and his love of the African landscape and many of her people is very obvious. This is, once again, a real page-turner. 

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This is one of the most amazing books I have ever read - and I've read tons of books. I will definitely read all other books written by Tony park. I highly recommend "Safari".

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Tony Park has worked as a journalist, a government press secretary and served with the Australian Army in Afghanistan in 2002. He is the author of Far Horizon, Zambezi, African Sky, Safari, Silent Predator, Ivory and The Delta. He and his wife, Nicola, divide their time between Africa and Australia. Tony is personally beloved by the Pan staff with several members joining him on holiday adventures in Africa!

Bibliographic information