Samuel Beckett and the End of Modernity

Front Cover
Stanford University Press, 1996 - Literary Criticism - 237 pages
This study explores the relation between Samuel Beckett's five major novels - Murphy, Watt, Molloy, Malone Dies, and The Unnamable - and the phenomenon that Lyotard, Habermas, and Vattimo have described as the "end of modernity." Through close readings of Beckett's "pentalogy," the author shows how these novels, written between 1935 and 1950, strikingly anticipate many of the defining themes and ideas of Barthes, Foucault, and Derrida - from madness and the cogito to the "death of the author" and the "end of the book," from differance and unnamability to the "end of man" and the "beginning of writing."

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Bibliographic information