Saratoga Soul Brandtville Blues

Front Cover
Jazzage, Mar 9, 2020
Saratoga Soul Brandtville Blues is a visual narrative collection representing an historic agglomeration of African-American life in upstate Saratoga Springs, New York. This publication includes an initial sampling of the photographic collection. The greatest number of photographs were acquired as relatives passed away. Photographic materials then passed into the author's possession. Other photos have long been in the Daggs family circulation. Many of the vintage images capture the quiet lucid beauty of a rural African American family and their beautiful life experience. The earliest photograph captures the author's paternal Grandfather Emory, Sr. with his mother Eliza and another Saratoga Soul seated in the horse-drawn buggy. The trio stands alongside their Brandtville home circa 1909. Other photographs adduce the subtle details and appurtenant realities of Brandtville's prevailing agricultural existence. The photographs span several decades during the Twentieth Century. These souls were the early inhabitants of Brandtville and stewards of the land. They tell the story of Saratoga Soul Brandtville Blues.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2020)

Carol Daggs is an Educator, and multi-faceted Creative whose gifts as a researcher and writer have begun to emerge. She was selected as a contributing author to publish Southern Saratoga Soul in the 2017 anthology Before They Were Our Mothers: Voices of Women Born Before Rosie Started Riveting. Before They Were Our Mothers features fifteen New York State women authors, is Edited by Patricia Nugent and published by Journal Arts Press. As dual pianist and vocalist, Carol has performed at Harlem's famed Apollo Theater. On set she is known as Jazzage: the artful application of musical Jazz sounds to the auditory apparatus and soul via vocal and instrumental flow! Thank you for your interest in Saratoga Soul Brandtville Blues. Please stay tuned for future titles by Carol.

Bibliographic information