Secrets in the Fire

Front Cover
PERFECTION LEARNING Corporation, 2003 - Juvenile Fiction - 166 pages
2 Reviews
"The powerful story of one girl's indomitable spirit after surviving a land mine in war-ravaged southern Africa."

It is the wise old woman of the village who teaches young Sofia about the secrets in the fire. Within the flames hide all things past and all things yet to be. But not even old Muazena can see the horrors the fire holds for Sofia and her family -- not the murderous bandits who drive them from their home, and not the land mine that takes Sofia's legs.

In her long journey toward recovery, Sofia must still deal with growing up. Along the way, she discovers friends, and foes, in places she'd never expected. Through it all, Sofia draws on a strength she never knew she had, a fire of her own that's been a secret all along.

Real-life land mine victim Sofia Alface is the inspiration for Henning Mankell's stunning novel which puts a very human face on the suffering in Africa.

Key Features: Land mines, an important, high-profile issue A gripping, dramatic page-turner and a story full of hope Readers will relate to the spirited Sofia

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - 15melr - LibraryThing

This book is set in a country in Africa called Mozambique sometime when there was a big civil war, this story, based on a true account, following the life of Sofia and her sister Maria, brother ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Brackenfur - LibraryThing

This book has very touching plot, and they are understandable. The book is recommended to young adults especially 6th to 9th graders. Although this book is fictional, it is based on the real story of ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2003)

Henning Mankell was born in Stockholm, Sweden on February 3, 1948. He left secondary school at the age of 16 and worked as a merchant seaman. While working as a stagehand, he wrote his first play, The Amusement Park. His first novel, The Stone Blaster, was released in 1973. His other works included The Prison Colony that Disappeared, Daisy Sisters, The Eye of the Leopard, The Man from Beijing, Secrets in the Fire, The Chronicler of the Wind, Depths, and I Die, But My Memory Lives On. He also wrote the Kurt Wallander series, which have been adapted for film and television, and the Joel Gustafson Stories series. A Bridge to the Stars won the Rabén and Sjögren award for best children's book of the year. He was committed to the fight against AIDS. He helped build a village for orphaned children and devoted much of his spare time to his "memory books" project, where parents dying from AIDS are encouraged to record their life stories in words and pictures. He was also among the activists who were attacked and arrested by Israeli forces as they tried to sail to the Gaza strip with humanitarian supplies in June 2010. He died from cancer on October 5, 2015 at the age of 67.

Bibliographic information