Seven Types of Ambiguity

Front Cover
Penguin, Dec 16, 2004 - Fiction - 640 pages
2 Reviews
Seven Types of Ambiguity is a psychological thriller and a literary adventure of breathtaking scope. Celebrated as a novelist in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Philip Roth, Elliot Perlman writes of impulse and paralysis, empty marriages, lovers, gambling, and the stock market; of adult children and their parents; of poetry and prostitution, psychiatry and the law. Comic, poetic, and full of satiric insight, Seven Types of Ambiguity is, above all, a deeply romantic novel that speaks with unforgettable force about the redemptive power of love.

The story is told in seven parts, by six different narrators, whose lives are entangled in unexpected ways. Following years of unrequited love, an out-of-work schoolteacher decides to take matters into his own hands, triggering a chain of events that neither he nor his psychiatrist could have anticipated. Brimming with emotional, intellectual, and moral dilemmas, this novel-reminiscent of the richest fiction of the nineteenth century in its labyrinthine complexity-unfolds at a rapid-fire pace to reveal the full extent to which these people have been affected by one another and by the insecure and uncertain times in which they live. Our times, now.



What people are saying - Write a review

A long read, but ultimately worth it.

User Review  - The Laughing Corpse - Borders

I must admit that, when I picked up this book, I was looking for a time killer. Something long and drawn out that was, hopefully, very interesting. I got more than I bargained for. This book travels ... Read full review

Seven types of ambiguity

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The half-hearted kidnapping of young Sam Geraghty sets in motion this intricately plotted first novel about a small group of Australians in crisis. Ten years after being dumped, Simon Heywood is still ... Read full review

Selected pages



Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Elliot Perlman was born in Australia. He is the author of the short-story collection The Reasons I Won't Be Coming, which won the Betty Trask Award (UK) and the Fellowship of Australian Writers Book of the Year Award. Riverhead Books will publish this collection in 2005.

Bibliographic information