Seven Types of Ambiguity

Front Cover
Penguin, Dec 16, 2004 - Fiction - 640 pages
17 Reviews
Seven Types of Ambiguity is a psychological thriller and a literary adventure of breathtaking scope. Celebrated as a novelist in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Philip Roth, Elliot Perlman writes of impulse and paralysis, empty marriages, lovers, gambling, and the stock market; of adult children and their parents; of poetry and prostitution, psychiatry and the law. Comic, poetic, and full of satiric insight, Seven Types of Ambiguity is, above all, a deeply romantic novel that speaks with unforgettable force about the redemptive power of love.

The story is told in seven parts, by six different narrators, whose lives are entangled in unexpected ways. Following years of unrequited love, an out-of-work schoolteacher decides to take matters into his own hands, triggering a chain of events that neither he nor his psychiatrist could have anticipated. Brimming with emotional, intellectual, and moral dilemmas, this novel-reminiscent of the richest fiction of the nineteenth century in its labyrinthine complexity-unfolds at a rapid-fire pace to reveal the full extent to which these people have been affected by one another and by the insecure and uncertain times in which they live. Our times, now.

 

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bookaholixanon - LibraryThing

A magnificent book. If the overlap in the stories and points of view of the different characters, and the "ambiguity" about "what happened" this creates is going to annoy you, either check yourself ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lesleynicol - LibraryThing

I was about to write a review saying how much I enjoyed this book and then I read the review below by Elmoelle 09 Aug 2013. A terrific review which really says everything I would have said, so please ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

parttwo
partthree
partfour
partfive
partsix
partseven
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS
PERMISSIONS
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Elliot Perlman was born in Australia. He is the author of the short-story collection The Reasons I Won't Be Coming, which won the Betty Trask Award (UK) and the Fellowship of Australian Writers Book of the Year Award. Riverhead Books will publish this collection in 2005.

Bibliographic information