Seven Roads to Hell: A Screaming Eagle at Bastogne

Front Cover
Presidio Press, 1999 - Biography & Autobiography - 225 pages
3 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified
The Screaming Eagles of the 101st Airborne Division, the fictional Private Ryan's unit, had just finished the battle for the bridge too far, Field Marshal Montgomery's ill-fated Operation Market Garden. As Christmas 1944 approached, the division was settling in for some hard earned rest and recuperation. Then, Hitler ordered a massive Nazi counterattack through the supposedly impenetrable Ardennes Forest. The author and the rest of the Screaming Eagles were rushed to Bastogne, a small Belgian crossroads town where seven roads met. The lightly-armed paratrooper became 'the cork in the bottle' of the Nazi onslaught; Bastogne became the key to German victory. Private Burgett's memoir (he was not yet twenty years old at the time of the battle) is an exciting and enduring testament to the Screaming Eagles and their epic defense of Bastogne.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jztemple - LibraryThing

This book follows Burgett's career in the paratroops as a sequel to his first two books where he relates the stories of the D-Day and Operation Market Garden landings. In "Seven Roads" Burgett relates ... Read full review

SEVEN ROADS TO HELL: A Screaming Eagle at Bastogne

User Review  - Kirkus

A stirring combat memoir by a WWII paratrooper of the elite 101st Airborne Division, the famed Screaming Eagles. Burgett (Currahee!, not reviewed) writes here of his experiences during the heroic ... Read full review


The Woods Fight

3 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Donald R. Burgett is a retired roofing contractor who lives northwest of Ann Arbor in Howell, Michigan. This is the fourth & concluding installment of his "Screaming Eagle" memoirs which include "Currahee!", "The Road to Arnhem", & "Seven Roads to Hell".

Bibliographic information