Sex and Drugs and Sausage Rolls

Front Cover
Transworld Publishers Limited, 2000 - Fiction - 381 pages
5 Reviews

He becomes funnier the more you read him.' Independent

It has always been John Omally's secret ambition to become a rock star. In his youth he mastered air guitar and wardrobe-mirror posing, but he lacked that certain something. Talent. But at last an opportunity has arisen for John to get into 'The Industry'. A band called Gandhi's Hairdryer are looking for a manager, so all John has to do is persuade them that he is the new Brian Epstein. It should be a piece of cake. But - and there's always a but - there is something rather odd about this band. Something other-worldly. It might be the lead singer, whose voice has the power to heal. Might she be an angel, perhaps? Or could she be the Devil in disguise? Because, after all, the Devil does have all the best tunes. And this is Brentford.

In this, his final offering of the twentieth century, Robert Rankin returns to the town of his birth, the friends of his youth and one of the loves of his life: Rock Music.

'Everybody should read at least one Robert Rankin in their life.' Daily Express

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Xleptodactylous - LibraryThing

Not the best Rankin novel, and by far not the funniest either. But it was classic Rankin in that it had running gags (throughout the book and from previous books, also) and the title alone deserves a ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rincewind1986 - LibraryThing

Telling the story of a band with a lead singer with a healing voice, and the lifes of the residents of brentford, thisfor me is Rankin at his very best. For any fan of music, this book will become ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2000)

Robert Rankin is the author of Web Site Story, Waiting for Godalming, Sex and Drugs and Sausage Rolls, Snuff Fiction, Apocalypso, The Dance of the Voodoo Handbag, Sprout Mask Replica, Nostradamus Ate My Hamster, A Dog Called Demolition, The Garden of Unearthly Delights, The Most Amazing Man Who Ever Lived, The Greatest Show Off Earth, Raiders of the Lost Car Park, The Book of Ultimate Truths, the Armageddon quartet (three books), and the Brentford trilogy (five books) which are all published by Corgi Books. Robert Rankin's latest novel, The Fandom of the Operator, is now available as a Doubleday hardback. For more information on Robert Rankin and his books, see his website at

Bibliographic information