Skarlet: Part One of the Vampire Trinity

Front Cover
Macmillan, Oct 2, 2012 - Fiction - 384 pages
8 Reviews

When a new drug starts turning users into vampires, it's open season on the living in this action-packed thriller in the tradition of Jonathan Maberry and The Walking Dead

Fear grips London as dozens of people die after taking a sinister new drug called Skarlet. But that's only the beginning. Forty-eight hours later, the dead partiers wake up and begin butchering the living for their blood. Soon, London gives a name to its terror: Vampires.

Jake Lawton, bitter and betrayed after the Iraq War, finds himself fighting another battle - against the growing army of immortal hunters and their human cohorts. Lawton joins forces with the journalist who brought about his downfall and the dealer tricked into distributing the drug. Together they take on the spineless authorities, the ruthless cohorts, and the hungry dead. But the vampire plague unleashed in London is nothing to what lurks beneath the streets. Waiting to be fed ...Waiting to be resurrected ...Waiting to reign again over a city of human slaves.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
0
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - GhostWriter57 - LibraryThing

This book held such promise....interesting twists on the tired vampire field, promising characters, good pace. I was tempted to stop reading about 2/3 the way through. The dialogue was just terrible ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PhilipTroy - LibraryThing

Although I think the idea behind this book holds a great deal of promise, the execution wasn't to my personal tastes. Not a horrible book, like some I've had the misfortune of reading, but not one of my top picks either. -PT Read full review

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

THOMAS EMSON is a writer who lives in Kent in the UK. Skarlet is his second novel, and the first in the Vampire Trinity.

Bibliographic information