Small Bites: Mindfulness for Everyday Use

Front Cover
Parallax Press, Dec 2, 2008 - Body, Mind & Spirit - 176 pages
Drawing on her experiences as a Buddhist teacher in the tradition of Thich Nhat Hanh, Annabelle Zinser developed meditation and mindfulness practices for a variety of everyday situations and the transformation of emotional challenges. In short chapters the author demonstrates how to connect the awareness of our breath with focusing our mindfulness on a particular topic at hand, such as: dealing with inferiority complex; recognizing negative thoughts and emotions; taking care of our sexuality; seeing our ancestors within us. This puts us in touch with the healing capacity of the present moment, and gives us a tool to transform even the most difficult and painful aspects of our lives into something joyful and healing. In their simplicity, the meditations follow the model of Metta meditation, aiming for the cultivation of our hearts and spirits. They always begin with focusing on the breath but from there expand to addressing a broad spectrum of mental conditions and life situations.

Written for anyone aiming to living in a more grounded and sustainable way, Small Bites offers immediately applicable guidance in applying key mindfulness practices to daily life.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Introduction
1
Loving Kindness Meditation
63
Feeling the Worlds Joy and Pain
72
Nourishing Happiness
78
Love and Compassion for Animals
82
The Five Powers
86
The Body Mind Connection
92
Opening Up to Physical Pain
96
Neutral Feelings and the Possibility of Joy
126
Difficult Feelings
129
Dealing with Lifes Ups and Downs
134
Are Our Perceptions Accurate?
139
The Practice of Nonharming
143
Dealing with Sexual Feelings
147
Developing Appreciation
151
Communicating Appreciation
154

Handling Wishes and Desires
101
The Four Sources of Nourishment
107
Recognizing Our Ancestors
113
Awareness of Feelings
119
Buddha Nature
161
Acknowledgments
165
About the Author
167
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Born in 1948 in Germany, Annabelle Zinser received a PhD in history and politics and later trained as a massage therapist and Yoga teacher, fields she practiced and taught in for many years. During a journey to India in 1988 she participated in a Vipassana Meditation Retreat led by S.N. Goenka. Shortly thereafter she became a student of Ruth Denison from whom she received Dharma teacher transmission. She met Thich Nhat Hanh in 2000; became a member of his core practice community, the Order of Interbeing; and received transmission to become a Dharma teacher in Thich Nhat Hanh’s lineage in 2004. Thich Nhat Hanh bequeathed to her his urban practice center in Berlin, where she has led the practice since 2002. She is the recipient of the United Nation’s 2007 Outstanding Women in Buddhism award. She lives in Berlin.

Bibliographic information