Starstruck

Front Cover
Delacorte Press, Mar 12, 2013 - Juvenile Fiction - 339 pages
2 Reviews
A new series set in the golden age of glam . . .

“Wit, pluck, darkness, pitch perfect period details, juicy twists, and big heart. This book is one to savor.”--Anna Godbersen, New York Times bestselling author of the Luxe and Bright Young Things series

Every week they arrive in Los Angeles--beautiful and talented young hopefuls who dream of becoming stars. It's all Margaret Frobisher has ever wanted—and when she's discovered by a powerful agent, she can barely believe her luck. She's more than ready to escape her snobby private school and conservative Pasadena family for a chance to light up the silver screen.

The competition is fierce at Olympus Studios and Margaret—now Margo—is chasing her Hollywood dreams alongside girls like Gabby Preston, who at 16 is already a grizzled show-biz veteran caught between the studio and the ravenous ambition of her ruthless mother, and sultry Amanda Farraday, who seems to have it all--ambition, glamour . . . and dirty secrets. Missing from the pack is Diana Chesterfield, the beautiful actress who mysteriously disappeared, and there are whispers that Diana's boyfriend—Margo's new co-star—may have had something to do with it. Margo quickly learns that fame comes with a price, and that nothing is what it seems.

Set in Old Hollywood, Starstruck follows the lives of three teen girls as they live, love, and claw their way to the top in a world where being a star is all that matters.

“Valley of the Dolls for a new generation.”—a TeenVogue.com 'Read During Spring Break' selection

“If you're into T.V. dramas like Smash, or love the over-the-top fashion of The Great Gatsby, Starstruck will have you hooked!”—a Seventeen.com 'What to Read This Summer' selection


 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Dauntless - LibraryThing

Set in 1930s HollyWood. Three teenage girls hope to break into the movies and all the glamour that goes with it. Fans of The Luxe series, The Bright Young Things series, and Cinders and Sapphires will enjoy this novel. Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
9
Section 3
22
Section 4
39
Section 5
46
Section 6
55
Section 7
63
Section 8
72
Section 17
177
Section 18
185
Section 19
199
Section 20
220
Section 21
230
Section 22
238
Section 23
246
Section 24
257

Section 9
82
Section 10
88
Section 11
105
Section 12
124
Section 13
134
Section 14
148
Section 15
152
Section 16
154
Section 25
273
Section 26
285
Section 27
297
Section 28
306
Section 29
312
Section 30
318
Section 31
327
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

RACHEL SHUKERT is the author of Everything Is Going to Be Great, Have You No Shame?, and the Starstruck novels. She has been fascinated by the Golden Age of Hollywood since she was a girl, when she used to stay up all night watching old movies and fall asleep the next day at school. Rachel grew up in Omaha, Nebraska, and graduated from New York University. She lives in New York City with her husband. Visit her at rachelshukert.com.