Strange Flesh: A Novel

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Feb 12, 2013 - Fiction - 416 pages
6 Reviews
In this “complex, cutting-edge debut” for fans of Neal Stephenson and The Millennium Trilogy, a troubled hacker goes undercover to locate a vanished tech prodigy and finds himself at the center of a tantalizing, high-stakes revolution in virtual reality (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

IN THIS DEBUT THRILLER FOR FANS OF NEAL STEPHENSON AND THE MILLENNIUM TRILOGY, A TROUBLED HACKER FINDS HIMSELF AT THE CENTER OF A HIGH-STAKES REVOLUTION IN VIRTUAL REALITY.

James Pryce, a hacker at Red Rook Security in Manhattan, has just received his most personal assignment yet. Blythe Randall, the woman who broke his heart in college, has hired him to locate her missing brother, Billy, whose increasingly violent stunts threaten to bring down their family’s billion-dollar media empire. To do so, James must infiltrate Billy’s last known whereabouts: GAME, a programming collective where a group of designers are at work on a top-secret invention that promises a revolutionary advance in sexual technology. James has to find Billy before his final plan is set in motion, but when the GAMErs invite him to their inner circle, his investigation takes a tantalizingand much more dangerousturn.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Allizabeth - LibraryThing

Review: When I started hearing about Strange Flesh from other reviewers, I knew that I wanted to get my hands on a copy, and Simon and Schuster was kind enough to send me an ARC. Others were equating ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lovejoy_rat - LibraryThing

I normally try not to leave a review for books that I wasn't able to make it through, but this one really put me off. I was expecting a super awesome sexy techno thriller, but all I got was some male ... Read full review

All 5 reviews »

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
7
Section 3
11
Section 4
17
Section 5
37
Section 6
42
Section 7
48
Section 8
55
Section 22
177
Section 23
181
Section 24
203
Section 25
211
Section 26
219
Section 27
227
Section 28
231
Section 29
239

Section 9
71
Section 10
87
Section 11
103
Section 12
113
Section 13
123
Section 14
131
Section 15
135
Section 16
139
Section 17
145
Section 18
147
Section 19
161
Section 20
167
Section 21
171
Section 30
249
Section 31
251
Section 32
271
Section 33
277
Section 34
315
Section 35
319
Section 36
325
Section 37
335
Section 38
359
Section 39
369
Section 40
375
Section 41
381
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Michael Olson graduated from Harvard and worked in investment banking and software engineering before earning a master’s degree from NYU’s Interactive Technology Program, where he designed a locomotion interface for virtual environments.

Bibliographic information