Studies in Mysticism and Certain Aspects of the Secret Tradition

Front Cover
Health Research Books, 1970 - 360 pages
1906 Contents: Hither Side of the Portal Life of the Mystic; Enterprise of Sanctity; Sense of the Infinite; Supernatural Goodness; a Question of Service; Asceticism & Mysticism; Foundation of Higher Magic. Vestiges of the Outer Ways - Lesser Myster.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


w 8
The Sense of the Infinite
Supernatural Goodness
A Question of Service 35
Lesser Mystemies or the Life of Life
Byways of Half A CENTURY
Mesmerism ANd Hypnotism

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1970)

Arthur Edward Waite was born on October 2, 1857 in Brooklyn, New York. He was a poet and scholarly mystic who wrote extensively on occult and esoteric matters, and was the co-creator of the Rider-Waite Tarot deck. Waite joined the Outer Order of the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn in January 1891 after being introduced by E.W. Berridge. In 1899 he entered the Second order of the Golden Dawn. He became a Freemason in 1901, and entered the Societas Rosicruciana in Anglia in 1902. In 1903 Waite founded the Independent and Rectified Order R. R. et A. C. Waite was a prolific author and many of his works were well received in academic circles. He wrote occult texts on subjects including divination, esotericism, Rosicrucianism, Freemasonry, and ceremonial magic, Kabbalism and alchemy; he also translated and reissued several important mystical and alchemical works. His works on the Holy Grail, influenced by his friendship with Arthur Machen, were particularly notable. A number of his volumes remain in print, including The Book of Ceremonial Magic (1911), The Holy Kabbalah (1929), A New Encyclopedia of Freemasonry (1921), and his edited translation of Eliphas Levi's 1896 Transcendental Magic, its Doctrine and Ritual (1910), having seen reprints in recent years. Waite also wrote two allegorical fantasy novels, Prince Starbeam (1889) and The Quest of the Golden Stairs (1893).

Bibliographic information