Sugar Street

Front Cover
Doubleday, 1992 - Fiction - 308 pages
0 Reviews
The New York Times Book Review called Palace Walk, the first volume of the Cairo Trilogy, "a tale told with great affection, sensitivity, and humor" and described Palace of Desire, the second volume, as "elegant and often explosive". The Nobel Prize winner now offers the climactic third volume, print.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

The final volume in Nobel laureate Mahfouz's magisterial Cairo trilogy takes the Abd al-Jawad family from a rising tide of nationalist sentiment in 1935 through the darkness and confusion of WW II, as ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1992)

NAGUIB MAHFOUZ was born in 1911 in the crowded Cairo district of Gamaliya. He studied philosophy at Cairo University, then worked in various government ministries until his retirement in 1971. His first three published novels were Khufu's Wisdom (1939), Rhadopis of Nubia (1943), and Thebes at War (1944), all of which are set in ancient Egypt. These political and philosophical critiques disguised as historical romances show the unmistakable signs of a burgeoning literary genius. He went on to write more than 35 other novel-length works, plus hundreds of short stories and numerous cinema plots and scenarios, many of which have been made into successful films. Naguib Mahfouz was awarded the Nobel prize for literature in 1988. In 2006, he died at the age of 95.

Bibliographic information