Talking with My Mouth Full: Crab Cakes, Bundt Cakes, and Other Kitchen Stories

Front Cover
Macmillan, Oct 31, 2006 - Cooking - 255 pages
0 Reviews
What does America really eat? Which recipes do real home cooks turn to again and again? More often than not, they are dishes handed down from great aunts and painstakingly copied out of smudged recipe boxes rather than the creations of celebrity chefs. Bonny Wolf, food commentator for NPR's "Weekend Edition", writes about the great regional and family food traditions in this country--birthday cake and dinner party food, hearty American breakfasts and Fourth of July picnic dishes.  In Talking with My Mouth Full, she writes stories about food, and also about the people who eat it.
 
This book gives a snapshot of the American traditions that have contributed to what and how we eat.  Food trends come and go, but many delightful national treasures--bundt cake, barbecue, roast chicken, fair food--are timeless.  Each of Bonny Wolf's chapters, whether she's writing about true regional specialties like Minnesota's wild rice, Texas' Blue Bell ice cream or Maryland's famous crab cakes or about family favorites like noodle pudding or Irish raisin soda bread, ends with a perfectly chosen group of recipes, tantalizing and time-tested.
 
In the tradition of Laurie Colwin's Home Cooking, Talking with My Mouth Full is a book you will turn to over and over for wonderful food writing and recipes for comfort food, a great nosh, or the ideal covered dish to take to a potluck supper.

What people are saying - Write a review

Talking with my mouth full: crab cakes, bundt cakes, and other kitchen stories

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

This collection of essays about the foods that mark special occasions in the average American's home is as reassuring as a big bowl of buttery mashed potatoes. A food commentator for NPR'sWeekend ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2006)

Bonny Wolf is a journalist who has worked as a reporter and editor at newspapers in New Jersey, Texas and Washington, D.C., where she lives. She has been a food commentator for National Public Radio's "Weekend Edition" since 2003.

Bibliographic information